Other Resources My Cup of Joe » Kick or not to kick? Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, the bear, DerekL, alicefoeller Reply
2010-03-28 1:42 PM

User image

Spanish Fork, UT
Subject: Kick or not to kick?

I'll get this out of the way quick and easy...I am not an animal lover.  For this reason I seek the advice and wisdom of the BT COJers.  On the last mile or two of my ride yesterday on a rural road, a dog jumps out of the high grass and chases me, nipping at my calves the entire way.   Embarassing, but I'm new to the bike and dead tired so the dog probably wasn't working to hard to keep up.

I nearly unclipped and let the dog feel the bottom of my cleat, but thought better of it.  So my question is, what would COJ do?  Unclip and teach the dog a lesson, or let the dog have its fun?

(I'm aware that the true answer is HTFU and ride...I'll get there).

2010-03-28 1:56 PM
in reply to: #2753536

User image

Master
Gurnee, IL
Subject: RE: Kick or not to kick?
I'd kick 'em if they got too close.   They should feel lucky that its not the old days b4 co2 inflators when I rode with a pump.  Otherwise they get whacked by it.    I realize the dog is protecting "his turf"  but the owner should take better care of the dog and make sure it stays ON his turf. 
2010-03-28 2:36 PM

User image

Pro
the Alabama part of Pennsylvania
I AM an animal lover, but the answer is NOT "HTFU and ride".  A dog chasing might be a dog that will injure, or at least has the potential to tangle under the bike and cause an injury.  Sure, if you are fast enough, you can just get away, but better than the kick (which could backfire and give the dog something to grab) is to either squirt it from the water bottle, or tell the dog "NO" in a firm tone.  Also getting off and putting the bike between you and the dog is sometimes a smart move.