Boston Athletic Association
50F / 10C
Sunny
Total Time = 3h 01m 30s
Overall Rank = 1503/23126
Age Group = M18-39
Age Group Rank = 1054/4738
Pre-race routine:

this was the "A" of all "A" races for me... for those that know me... and those of you that managed to get through my lakefront marathon race report... you know how important this race was for me...!!! qualifying for boston was a dream come true... and come race day I really wanted to go out and do something special...

as soon as the lakefront marathon ended my training turned towards boston... for the past 6 months i have been focused on this race only... with the help of scott (schmize)... who has coached me the past 6 months... i really ramped up the training and intensity... not only physically... but mentally i prepared myself as well... i studied every race report i could find... looking at pacing strategies... and gaining tips and course knowledge... i studied course maps and elevation charts... i got pointers from schmize, joe (jszat) and other friends who had run the course... i watched countless course videos on youtube... having never set foot on the course... i felt like i knew it before going out... i knew that i would need to pace myself about 2 minutes under my goal time... because the course runs long (difficult to run the tangents with the crowds and all the curves)... i knew where to hold back... where to push... i knew where to let the crowds pull me... and where not to lose focus... i have a tendency to get a little tense leading up to big races... i really tried hard to keep the nerves at bay leading up to this one... also, the week prior to the race i even set my alarm clock to 6:52am each morning... because that is the pace i would need hit in boston for a 3 hour marathon... some nights, if i was feeling optimistic, i would set it for 6:50am... ;) anyway... i arrived in boston ready...