75F / 24C
Sunny
Total Time = 12h 58m 55s
Overall Rank = 988/2208
Age Group = M40-44
Age Group Rank = 195/373
Pre-race routine:

Introduction

Last year as I was training for my 4th marathon, I got the notion that I wanted to start planning for a full Ironman. Because registration opens the day after a race for the following year, and most races sell out in a blink of an eye, the beginning of 2007 was the time to start planning for a 2008 race. The plan I layed out had me doing 2-3 Half Ironman races in 2007 and a full in 2008.

After my Winter Marathon in the beginning of January, I started training for my first Half Ironman. (Ironman California, 70.3 on March 31st) This race really tossed some uncertainty into my plans. As it turns out, Ironman California had 50 "Qualified" slots for each of the other full Ironman Races. The idea is that they would roll them down through the age groups in finisher order until they were all gone.

Now I had a big decision to make; what would I do if I was offered a slot for a full ironman in 2007?

My performance in the Orange County Marathon boosted my confidence enough to contemplate the idea of doing a full Ironman in 2007 as long as it was in the 2nd half of the year. After some deliberation, I figured that Ironman USA in Lake Placid New York was my race. I was pretty certain this was a big longshot. I had no clue how well I would do in IMCal, and even less confidence that I would be able to get high enough in the standings to actually get one of these slots.

When I started my training, I decided to ramp my volume up for a full Ironman just in case. Even if I did not get the slot, it would still be great training for IMCal. As luck would have it, I did really well in Oceanside. I stuck around for the rolldowns and was able to get a slot for Ironman USA. I had very little time to second guess since I had to register and pay the money, or my slot was gone and I would have to wait for 2008. (I took the leap and registered)