Other Resources My Cup of Joe » Quick (American) football question Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, the bear, DerekL, alicefoeller Reply
2013-11-10 10:37 PM

User image

Supersonicus Idioticus
Thunder Bay, ON
Subject: Quick (American) football question
Hey guys... I am just getting into football. I used to hate the game, but now it is very interesting.

I have a question though. How do the refs determine where the line of scrimmage is placed after a gain of some yardage? Sometimes the players are knocked backwards during a tackle. Other times, I see the refs awarding a first down if the ball crosses the imaginary plane of 10yards, even if both their knees and the football touch the ground short of the 10y line.

Additionally, if every yard is so important, how come people don't pay attention to where exactly (i.e. within 6 inches) the ball should be placed for the next play?

I am sure I can google this, but I would rather discuss with my fellow BT'ers.

2013-11-11 3:59 AM
in reply to: So Fresh So Clean

User image

Subject: RE: Quick (American) football question
For line of scrimmage, the ball is everything. Where the ball was when the knee/elbow/butt hit the ground or the guy went out of bounds or forward progress was stopped is the new line of scrimmage. Not the person's body, where the ball was.

"forward progress" is a primary reason the new line of scrimmage is forward of where the guy came to rest during a play. The most forward point the ball reached during the course of play.

Wherever the refs place it is accepted as the new line. Everyone tends to accept that because the refs generally are pretty good about it and any wiggle room tends to even out over the course of a game, some you get the 6" some you get hosed by 6" but the other guy does too.

2013-11-11 6:53 AM

User image

Champion
Bellingham, Washington