General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Trick for dealing with the heat Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2014-10-27 11:44 AM

User image

Veteran
Apex, NC
Subject: Trick for dealing with the heat
So I've been doing this for a few years now and have heard most tricks for dealing with the heat. But one I hadn't heard as much and hadn't tried is ice down your shorts. I raced Austin yesterday in warm (I personally call it hot but I know for the Texans it's not) temps and tried this. It's the single best thing I've tried so far. Tight tri shorts keep it all trapped right there where your femoral arteries are and yes, it cools things off in general down there. The ice easily lasted until the next aid station with ice. Just an FYI.

2014-10-27 12:47 PM
in reply to: #5063184

User image

Franklin, TN
Subject: RE: Trick for dealing with the heat
No chafing issues?
2014-10-27 2:56 PM
in reply to: smoom

User image

Master
Bellevue, WA

Ice in the shorts is one of my solutions for running in 90+.  Another solution I commonly use is to run with a cup of ice in one hand, and hold the ice in the other hand and let it melt, then get more ice.  Ice melting in the palm of my hand seems to make a big difference without any "wow that's cold!" shock effect.

I don't like ice under the hat because I wear contacts and water running into my eyes is bad.

2014-10-27 3:16 PM
in reply to: brucemorgan

User image

Pro
Vancouver, BC

We've filled pantyhose or socks with ice and put them down the back of our jerseys.

2014-10-27 3:20 PM

User image

At Kona this year, the most popular things that I noticed while working the aid stations were...

1.  Ice in the hat
2.  Dumping cold water on themselves
3.  Ice down their back or in their arm coolers
4.  Ice down the shorts
5.  People wearing surgical gloves and putting ice inside the palm side of the glove